Value vs. success

Subscribing worth to something is intrinsic to all of us and yet, most of the time, we lose sight of it in the grand scheme of things. We place emphasis on the wrong things and many times, lose all perspective.

Recently, as my followers can no doubt tell, I have been on a kick of discovering motivation  for what I’m called to be doing.  What I’m built for and what I’m to avoid are the questions of the day for me.

But then I came across this quote and it gave me a whole new fresh perspective that was much needed.

“Strive not to be a success, but rather to be of value.” – Albert Einstein

Avoid these thoughts on being “successful”, or whatever that means.  Success is ultimately determined by whatever we choose to look to in that moment.  Success changes based on what we wish to grade it on.  For some, lots of money equals success while others would say that successful people are happy, free, independent, married, parents, or whatever continues to be added to that list.

And I don’t want to be defined by something that changes based on the moment or the mood I’m in.  I want to judge myself and motives based on what I’m contributing because ultimately this is where my faith comes to life.

I can say I’m successful but if others don’t look to and admire it, I don’t know what that means.  Or I can say that I’m a great pastor but have a church falling apart and no future leaders built up to take the mantel from me.  Words don’t count as much as faithfulness to the mission set before me.

So today, let’s take the words of Einstein to heart and “strive not to be a success, but rather to be of value.”

Leave a Reply

