Fearing God’s will

There is a side of me that doesn’t want to hear the will of God.  I’m sure that I am not the only one to feel this way but if I am, that’s okay.  Don’t get me wrong, I do want God to move in my life but part of me doesn’t want to know where I have to go to do it.  And honestly, one thing I fear is that I will have to stay where I am at.

Sometimes God calls us to go somewhere new.  Somewhere far off.  But I believe the harder one for us to hear is when God tells us to stay.  To face the obstacles in front of us and just buckle in for the long ride ahead.

Too many pastors I know have left their jobs.  Too many people leave their jobs trying to pursue a dream job that ultimately never happens because they never use the place they’re at to catapult them forward.

I have yet to meet a pastor who has left his church for a smaller church.  It is always some place bigger and usually with more stuff and a lot of times, it has more money.  I am not trying to bash people who move up in the world.  It is fine but I do find it odd that God “would call” that many people (essentially everyone) to larger and better things, worldly-wise, when He talks about using the foolish and the small things of this world to shame the wise.

The only example I know off hand is Francis Chan but he admittedly had some type of breakdown and wanted to get away from all of that celebrity stuff he was facing.  Guess that is what it is like at a million books sold.  Hopefully I can know that struggle someday.  Or at least hit a million books sold before facing that kind of trial.

But there is a side of me that fears knowing the will of God.  What if He calls me to do the thing that I don’t want to do?  What if getting to where I desire to be costs me too much?  What if I knew how much it was gonna take to find out my dream and then accomplish it?

Maybe I shouldn’t be in that place if I’m not willing to put in the time and effort it takes to get there.

Thanks for listening to these thoughts going through my head.

Leave a Reply

