John Lennon and happiness

Happiness is one of those elusive things for me.  Most of the time I am able to find it when I just stop focusing on the always growing demands of my daily life and simple focus on what is going on right in front of me.  Playing with my son.  Throwing him in the pool.  Or swapping stories with the wife.  Or simply reading a book.

But other times, no matter what I try, happiness seems out of reach.  Thinking on where I am in comparison to where I want to be.  Dreading the idea of getting up and going to a job that is not my passion.

I’m a simple person and a lot of the time, my homebody ways frustrates the mess out of my wife who would rather go out dancing or eating expensive wine.  But we usually find a way to do something we both enjoy.

But I have been learning contentment in where I am (honestly, where else can you learn it?).  Trying to find joy in what I am doing and not focusing on what I want to do in the future or what I got to do in the past.  To me, it seems like the happiest people are the ones who live in the moment.  The ones who put all of themselves into where they’re at.

And nothing explains happiness better than a quote from my favorite Beatle:

“When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life.  When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up.  I wrote down, ‘happy’.  They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.” – John Lennon 

The worst part about this whole movement towards happiness and all the books written on it, is that we can miss happiness so easily because we focus on what we think others think should be happiness.  It is not some magic formula you find but a treasure in a field.  Some may find it in the quiet while reading a book while others find it only in a mosh pit.  To each, his own.

My idea of happiness is always changing and I believe it should because each moment is different.  And that’s okay.  So let’s just be happy wherever we’re at and suck all the joy out of every moment.

Leave a Reply

