Bandwagon

Bandwagon fans don’t bother me so much.

The statement above will be seen as the most blasphemous thing I’ve ever said by some of my friends.  And I’m fine with that.

Actually in reality, bandwagon fans do bother me but only really at the moment.  I guess you could say I have done it in the past so I’m okay with it.  I was a huge Chicago Bulls fan when Jordan played.  D Rose can’t play without getting hurt so boo.  Or LeBron James went to Miami and I loved them but now that he’s in Cleveland, go Warriors.

This may be a little hypocritical but ultimately I was really bandwagon about certain teams in the past but I don’t care about those teams anymore so it doesn’t bother me.  I am even thinking of stopping to cheer on certain teams and just enjoy the games whenever they come on.  I love the game of basketball and the game of football so it is easy for me to sometimes not care about who’s playing.

This whole topic of bandwagon fans has struck me recently because of all those who have been cheering for the Tarheels recently.   There’s no way you are all Carolina Blue do or die.   But I’m willing to allow you to join my team.  I have certain teams that I love and have loved for a long time but you can read about those later*.

But back to this whole bandwagon phenomenon.  Urban Dictionary gives this definition for being bandwagon:  “When someone adopts a popular point of view for the primary purpose of recognition and/or acceptance by others.” 

Yes, the Urban Dictionary lays it all out and I concede to this idea of being a bandwagon fan and the bad ramifications that come with it.  Mainly because it is for the primary purpose of getting recognized and not because you are cheering for my team.  I don’t hate on you for liking something, especially when it is my team.

Also allow me this side tangent:  I hate it when certain fans become jerks to other people about liking their team when they’ve just liked them longer.  Who cares because ultimately we are all fickle when it comes to what we like.  And please stop the arguments about liking your local team.   When did geography become the most important thing in deciding what to like?  Haven’t you heard of globalization?  Since when did people choose Pepsi because it is based in NC?  I’m not writing this blog on a computer made by the closest computer company to me. It is an Apple from California.  Why?  Because I believe it’s the best there is.  It impacted me the most at the crucial age I needed and I will not go back.  Don’t hate things far away because you only want local.  I digress…

After all, as a fan of the Tarheels, I want you to support my team and cheer for them (yes there are spiritual implications here but I’ll leave those for you to consider).  But don’t go for a certain team because it is popular.  I won’t care either way and neither will most people (except for the jerks above).

Do it because you’re excited about what’s happening.  What Steph Curry is doing right now is unbelievable and I’m cheering him on 1) because he played in NC (I guess it goes against my whole local argument but hey I’m a hypocrite sometimes) and I saw him devour my alma mater multiple times in college, and 2) because I love dynasties and would love to see them take the Bulls regular season record.  Don’t do it for praise on the other fans’ end because that’s dumb and you won’t get it. Do it because you love what you’re seeing.

That being said, I invite as many bandwagon fans to join me in cheering on my Tarheels in the Final Four.

Ok, one spiritual thought to end – Jesus had many people follow Him for a little bit and then they left Him behind.  Probably because He was either too hard on them or He didn’t answer things the way they wanted.  So they left Him.  Spiritual application if you didn’t catch it:  Don’t be a bandwagon fan when it comes to Jesus.  Follow Him wholeheartedly all the way through victory and suffering (there, my Jesus Juke is over).

Go cheer whoever you want.  I will make fun of you in many cases but you can for me also when we lose (if that ever happens because I pick winners).
*I have been a huge Tarheel fan all my life (you can’t be bandwagon if you’re born into it).  Once I saw Brett Favre play, I became a Green Bay Packers fan and I have loved them every since.  One of my favorite NBA players was Magic Johnson and then Kobe and I still consider myself a Lakers fan but they suck right now, so I keep it quiet.  And I love nostalgia and my grandparents were Braves fans so I became a…..Cubs fan because they came on before Bulls games and Harry Carey fascinated me as well as the great shortstop Ryne Sandberg but baseball is too boring and lasts too long so I don’t follow it that well.  This fandom has lasted a long time for me so I don’t consider myself a bandwagon fan since I still pull for those teams.

 

Leave a Reply

